Lockdown Day – 12 Saying Hi to self

life, Questions, Reflections, Uncategorized

Reaching a stage in life where one realises the self’s potential and capabilities as well as the shortcomings and the weaknesses, is the time when one can say, “I have started to realise what i deserve in life”.

I always listened to people using the phrase “ I have arrived” with a sense of curiosity and amusement. I always wondered when do people feel that, what makes them say such a big thing?

If I look at my life, I could say with confidence what I want and what I dont want for me, fairly recently. Maybe, about 2 years ago was the first time I felt the organic need to express my emotions in a way that defined me as a person. The time when i started making decisions aligned to my own personality and not other’s expectations. And it wasn’t because someone told me something or I achieved something but, simply because something inside me told me loud and clear, that today, I am closer to being the person I always wanted to be, than ever before.

There is a difference between realising one’s personality and achieving one’s dreams.

I have a lot of dreams. A lot of passions and an insane amount of why-nots influencing the decisions in my life. I have just started, just realised that my life is a canvass which I can paint with my own choice of colours and make a masterpiece. And the choice of colours and the final masterpiece i make , i now know would be influenced by a lot of factors but would be my choices ultimately.

We all have a canvass called life. Even when we say we dont have a choice, we are actually making a choice. Our not taking a decision has always been a decision too. It is with these colours of decisions, thoughts and conflicts that we paint our life’s canvass and I intend to paint mine with an insane and obscene amount of colours.

Each one of us has the potential to realise what we want from us, what are our expectations from ourselves. All we have to do is, listen. Till the time we don’t listen to our own selves, we would never be able to realise what we want.

Leave a comment